Words to Live By

by carrielaven

I’m freaking out because I’m turning 25 in eight days and this summer has been weird and it seems like everyone I know has been going through some sort of drama/transitional state.  I last had this feeling a few years ago, when I had just graduated college and was going through my Identity Crisis of ’09.  What helps during times like this?  For me– gettin’ Zenned out at yoga and meditation classes (I’m gonna start going again), finding a new hobby (I’m between plam reading and finally trying to figure out how to use Twitter), and finding those “Words to Live By” (personal mantras that let you know that everything is gonna be alright).  Here are the inspirational quotes that have been running through my head recently– spoken by both friends and strangers, and resonating with my life as of late:

“Keep it real”:  Even though having the right shoes or the right hair or the right job title might seem really important at times– news flash– it ain’t.  Just do what you like, do the best that you can at it, and don’t give a shit.  Be complex, but simple.  Love physical things, but not as status symbols.  Work hard, but don’t solely let money or glamour drive your ambitions.  Be emotionally open to Real Shit happening in your Real Life.  Stop pretending that you’re on Sex & The City or whatever.

“You can’t polish a turd”:  You can make a Heaven out of Hell, but you can’t make a diamond out of a lump of poo.  (see how I combined Milton and bathroom humor there?  PoMo.).  Flush all of the waste in your life down that figurative toilet.  Cut out anything toxic, you don’t need it. 

“I need some fresh Weird in my life”:  Because who wants stale Weird?  Keep experiences new and interesting.  Always try new things and step out of your comfort zone.  Get weird, because it’s way more fun and freeing than being a Normal.

“Bitches love tapas”:  They do!

Okay, that’s about as self-helpy as I get.  Take these inspirational words, appropriate them to fit within your own life, and live happily.  As for me, I’m heading over to my free meditation class later.

Namaste, fools.

Image via mandalas.com

